Skip to content

Being “Let Go” Allowed Me to Spread My Wings

December 2, 2009

It was a year ago that I was laid off from my well-paying, stressful full-time job.

It’s crazy, but I remember actually being happy about the news. It felt like a huge burden was lifted off my shoulders.

I also remember being terrified. I was the bread-winner in my family. The job was well-paying. What were we going to do? What was next?

Well, what was next was finding myself. What was next was getting new skills, finding an amazing job, and, ultimately, figuring out what makes ME happy.

Up until my lay-off I had been focused on pay or vacation or title. After the lay-off, job description, responsibility and flexibility is more important.

Before the lay-off, I held the myth that loyalty is staying at a job even if you hate it. After the lay-off, I know that my happiness is more valuable than any paycheck.

Now I’m in a job that I love. It allows me to do everything I knew I was capable of achieving. I’m flourishing. I have stressful days, but those are few and far in-between. I have been able to find my niche and soar.

I’ve also found that I can be myself in a profoundly transparent way. I have a Star Wars poster up in my cube and my co-workers love it instead of judging me. I’ve also achieved my career goals. I was promoted to a Director level title within a year and am developing a public speaker profile.

It’s amazing how something so potentially devastating as a lay-off can offer so much opportunity. I always work on being thankful for every moment, good or bad. Everyday is an chance to learn something new about the world or yourself.

Never stop learning, listening and excelling.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    December 4, 2009 10:25 am

    Amen to that Dawn!! It’s a message that I think many people need and will find uplifting right now!

    • dawnacrawford permalink*
      December 6, 2009 11:42 pm

      Thanks Debbie! That’s so sweet 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Being “Let Go” Allowed Me to Spread My Wings « BC/DC Ideas -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

