Skip to content

#10NTC A Lot Excited, A Little Nervous and Incredibly Awestruck

April 1, 2010

It’s a week until I leave for NTEN’s 2010 Nonprofit Technology Conference in Atlanta, GA. I’m a lot excited, a little nervous and incredibly awestruck.

I’m excited because I’ll get to learn from some of the best in nonprofits. These are the people I’ve admired through social media. All the big stars of nonprofit communications will be there. I”m *hopefully* going to meet some of my professional heroes like Beth Kanter, Kivi Leroux Miller, Danielle Brigida and more. I’m excited to be with over 1,300 of nonprofit’s brightest minds.

I’m a little nervous because…

  1. I’m traveling by myself (every girl has a shy side)
  2. Attending this conference for the first time
  3. This will be my first national conference speaking gig!

I’ll be presenting on three different topics at this year’s conference. The first (and most exciting, but nerve-wracking) is a 5-minute Ignite-style presentation on How to Deal with Social Media Meanies (prepare to geek out people). The second will be two hands-on workshop presentations with fellow superstar Laura Whitehead on We Are Media: Blogging. I’ll finish it up with a presentation on Social Media Basics for Nonprofits with a section dedicated to learning more about Facebook Causes. I think I’m also hosting a dinner in there somewhere on health care nonprofits. Whew – my voice is strained just thinking about that!

I’m awestruck that this is my life! This time two years ago, I was in a job that limited my potential and I had to beg to do anything that expanded my professional landscape. Today, I’m in a great job that allows me to live up to my potential and encourages my dreams. I’m preparing for a huge life-change of moving to North Carolina as soon as one of us lands a job. And I’m off to a national conference to present on what I love to talk about – social media.

There is so much potential to learn and grow as a professional. I’m going to be a sponge, learn from my peers and have a blast. Also, I’m totally looking forward to the After-Party at World of Coca-Cola! I’ll be rooming with Laura, which is going to be a great adventure.

I just cannot wait to pack my bags for a great trip of learning, growing and fun!

(I’d be remiss if I didn’t thank Caryn Capriccioso for her encouragement to attend this year’s conference. Since I’m funding this trip on my own, I needed some sage advice and she dealt it with style. Thanks Caryn!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 12:30 pm

    Hi Dawn! Am just like you in the title of your post, being my first NTEN conference too, but very much looking forward to meeting you finally, and so many others too! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 10 Things I Learned at #10NTC « BC/DC Ideas

Leave a comment